Home » About Us » Council of Advisors

Council of Advisors

The ADC is fortunate to have a distinguished Council of Advisors who support the aims and principles of the ADC, namely to combat all forms of racism and help preserve the just and tolerant character of multicultural Australia.

  • The Hon John Howard OM AC

    The Hon John Howard OM AC

    John Howard OM, AC was born July 26, 1939, in Sydney, Australia. He entered parliament in 1974 and became Minister for Business and Consumer Affairs from 1975 to 1977. He was then elevated to the position of Treasurer from 1977 to 1983. He was leader of the Liberal Party from 1985 to 1989 and from 1995 to 2007, being prime minister of Australia from 1996 to 2007. He is Australia's second-longest-serving Prime Minister.

  • The Hon R J L Hawke

    The Hon R J L Hawke

    Robert James Lee "Bob" Hawke AC, GCL was born December 9, 1929. After a decade as President of the Australian Council of Trade Unions he entered parliament as the Labor MP for Wills in 1980. Three years later, he led Labor to a landslide election victory and was sworn in as Prime Minister. He led Labor to victory at three more elections in 1984, 1987 and 1990 making him the most successful Labor Leader in history. He remains to date Labor's longest-serving Prime Minister, and is Australia's third-longest-serving Prime Minister.

  • Dr Lowitja O’Donoghue

    Dr Lowitja O’Donoghue

    Lowitja O'Donoghue, AC, CBE, DSG was born August 1, 1932. After commencing her career as a nursing aide, she became a nurse. In 1967 she became an Aboriginal Liaison Officer with the South Australian Department of Education. She was named Australian of the Year in 1984 and in 1990 Ms O'Donoghue was appointed Chairperson of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission.

  • The Rt Hon Sir Ninian Stephen

    The Rt Hon Sir Ninian Stephen

    Sir Ninian Martin Stephen KG, AK, GCMG, GCVO, KBE, PC, QC was born June 15, 1923. By the 1960s, Stephen was one of Australia's leading constitutional and commercial lawyers. In 1970 he was appointed as a judge of the Supreme Court of Victoria, relinquishing it in 1972 to take up his appointment as a Justice of the High Court of Australia. In 1982 he was appointed as Australia’s 20th Governor-General. He subsequently became the first Australian Ambassador for the Environment and was later appointed chairman of the second strand of the Northern Ireland peace talks. From 1993 to 1997 he was a judge on the international tribunals investigating war crimes in Yugoslavia and Rwanda. He has also been chairman of the Citizenship Council since 1998 and has acted as a special envoy of the UN Secretary General to resolve political conflicts in Bangladesh.